New feature: the news section on your homepage has changed

Yesterday we changed the news section on the UK homepage following feedback from you, our users.
 
Instead of having three tabbed sections: News, World News and Odd News, we now have two. You can access articles from MSN UK’s news content providers – Press Association, ITN, and Reuters – in the first News tab, and Headlines Around the Web in the second tab.
 
The latter is a selection of stories collated by our editors and presented as news search results from Bing, allowing you to find out more information on the hot topics of the day.
 
Some of you had given feedback saying the World News and Odd News didn’t update often enough for you, so we have made the change to give you better access to the stories that matter to you most.
 
What do you think of the change? Please let us know by commenting below.
 
Posted by Laura, MSN Homepage Team.
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to New feature: the news section on your homepage has changed

  1. Laurence says:

    Preferred the old one before you changed it at all, infact preferred whole layout

  2. anthony says:

    Must agree, the old version was better. Why the change ???? Why do you have to change (what in the end) works best …… A rush to "improve" what wasnt broken, me thinks

  3. grumpy says:

    the old one is the BEST just like windows xp is the best Windows 7 is rubbish can i put XP on my new PC

  4. Kathleen says:

    Agree with the previous comments. Much prefered the old one, thinking of changing my home page, because I do not like this one.

  5. ROZ says:

    i agree the old version was better,so much so that it\’s very rare i look at this mow,when i used to check the old one first thing every day.

  6. Graham says:

    Still prefer the old one – why is this all gossip, celebs and handbags whereas if you want the FTSE for example, you have to go looking inside \’Money\’. We\’re not all giggly girlies here you know ;p. Yet more dumbing down sadly.

  7. christopher says:

    AND WHEN AREyou GOING TO GET RID OF THOSE VIRAL ADDS IN THE COMMENTS SECTION ?????????????????? . NOTHING MORE THAN EMAIL HARVESTING , SCAMS, AND PHISHING ….IT.S BEEN GOING ON FOR MONTHS , BEEN REPORTED MANY TIMES AND THE RESPONSE IS…………………..NOTHING .!!!

  8. Katie says:

    Like the others, preferred the previous layout, was easy to find what i wanted, and was just generally better all round.

  9. marg says:

    agree…much better previously, why change at all? i rarely look at it now and am also thinking of changing homepage

  10. colin says:

    I like new page!,u have to foreward in life,not backwards as many people in this country not like progress, I think problem being they cannot handle change.

  11. Kevin says:

    Yeah, I have to agree. I preferred the previous style.Change things if it\’s necessary, but not just for the sake of it.As the adage goes: don\’t fix something which isn\’t broken.

  12. marion says:

    Much preferred the old page. Everything seems to take ages to access now.mari

  13. Unknown says:

    It just gets worse. More adverts, more soaps, more second rate celeb news – hopeless, I will use another home page.

  14. Unknown says:

    MSN have been getting complaints that World and Odd news didn\’t update as often as Home news, so they decide to do away with World and Odd altogether? This does not "give you better access to the stories that matter to you most", it ignores whole categories of news. The number of stories accessible directly has been reduced from 18 (3x(headline+5)) to 6 (headline+5).

  15. Nigel says:

    still rubbish and you won\’t change it back, the americans didn\’t like it either but they are still stuck with it so much for the team listening to the users. Well I changed my homepage to IGoogle as that does give me what I want, the news! If I wanted Facebook or twitter I would go on those sites, but you just use them to take up a third of the page and give less.It is not as some people suggest that they can\’t handle change, you have to remember not all change is for the best.

  16. JAMES says:

    WHEN ARE YOU GOING TO CHANGE THE WEATHER WHILE MOVING MOUSE OVER TO DISPLAY FORCAST THEN DAYS.

  17. Unknown says:

    It gets worse. I can\’t believe that the main news story today is about some obsenely fat woman. The London Stock Excahnge information is plain wrong, until you click through the menu. The massive coverage of entertainment is not news, but simply advertising, so most of the home page is quite useless, if you want a quick round up of what is happening in the world. I will not be staying unless a marked improvement is forthcoming.

  18. Unknown says:

    Facebook and Twitter are not even important to most people, so why do they take up so much space, just to connect with them?

  19. david says:

    AS USUAL – CHANGE FOR CHANGE SAKE – AND ITS A LOT WORSE – WHY CAN\’T YOU LEAVE THINGS ALONE

  20. JANICE says:

    Facebook and Twitter are not relevant to a lot of people and this takes up approximatley one third of the page. News is still not updated often enough, can read the same celebrity news days aqfter it being put on! The only improvement I can see you have made since asking for feedback is that I have just noticed that I can now put my cursor over the weather for my area and it tells me what to expect and not telling me the day, that I laready knew it was!.

  21. Alan says:

    Why can\’t you stop tinkering around with it. Since you introduced your latest change I have significant difficulty Signing Out when in Hotmail. That compromises my privacy surely by having to close MSN with my Hotmail account still open?ARE YOU LISTENING MISTER BALE? Please… stop faffing around with things and fixing them worse. You pillocks.

  22. Alan says:

    Why can\’t you stop tinkering around with it. Since you introduced your latest change I have significant difficulty Signing Out when in Hotmail. That compromises my privacy, surely, by having to close MSN with my Hotmail account still open?ARE YOU LISTENING MISTER BALE? Please… stop faffing around with things and fixing them worse. You pillocks.

  23. James says:

    Dear MSN Team—Shortly after you "improved" the look and layout ofthis home page I moved to Yahoo (where incidentally I have been happy with the home page, its content and readability)I though I would check back to see if you had taken any of the many,many comments on layout and readability on board —-but unfortunately no.I am not in the habit of complaining but what you have done to OUR homepage? – as we ultimately pay your wages – Is criminal\’

  24. stan says:

    what a mess it now takes ages to just read my mail and i no longer can acces it on my iphone without spending ages logging inn

  25. patrick says:

    patick barry 3rd august i have to sign in and out now when before it was click and read your messeges what a mess

  26. patrick says:

    patick barry 3rd august i have to sign in and out now when before it was click and read your messeges what a mess

  27. stan says:

    nerds gone mad they shoud get the sack,i can now longer access my email on my iphone without logging in every time

  28. janet says:

    I hate the \’new look\’, my junk, when I delete goes into the dleted box rather than disappear then when you try to label it junk to get rid of for good- it comes back!Hate it, Hate it HATE IT! I don\’t want all my mails to one person lested, I cannot forward as normal, cannot close it off easily… a total mess.Please return to the old style…

  29. janet says:

    PS Perhaps I should learn to spell! ..but you get the gist….

  30. log says:

    Homepage,all girl\’s video has opened in http://girl.filefund.com/video408038

  31. Issilonglong says:

    Homepage,all girl\’s video has opened in http://girl.filefund.com/video92012

Leave a Reply

