Time-stopping moments of the past 20 years

Posted by Laura
 
There are some events in life that can cause time to stand still. Not literally, of course, but these happenings, whether on a global, national, or even small town scale, seem to strike such a resonance with a large proportion of people the moments remain forever suspended in our minds. It only takes one thing to trigger the memory and it’s possible to recall where you were, what you were doing, music that was playing and all the intricate minutiae of the crucial point when you learned, saw or heard something – and you knew that things would forever be different because of it.

In the 70s and 80s, one of the most talked-about, iconic freeze-frame moments was the death of JFK. “People always remember where they were when Kennedy was shot,” was a common, and for the main part true, statement for decades after. It’s used less as a historical social marker today, not simply because younger generations weren’t alive to witness it, but also because there have been countless other events of great magnitude, filling our lives with tragic and momentous milestones that will be with us always.

The Zebrugge ferry disaster is one such beacon of the past. Images of the bright orange hull of the vessel remain as vivid to me today, exactly 20 years on, as they did when they were first beamed across my television screen. Even though I was only nine at the time, the day is clearer in my mind than many days last month. I recall sitting eating Shreddies in my living room, thinking the unfolding events must be serious because I was allowed to eat and watch TV at the same time. The ferry, turned on its side as if it were a toy in a pond, immediately changed from being a symbol of excitement and summer holidays to one of tragedy, loss and fallibility. When you’re a child you tend to deem everything as safe until experience tells you otherwise. And although I did go on a ferry again, it was with a changed perspective – no longer the wide-eyed childish wonder of old, instead a pragmatic approach of functionality. Even the place itself – Zebrugge – became synonymous with the disaster and all the fears and emotions that were evoked by it.

The “where were you when Kennedy was shot?” conversation-starter was some form of cultural reference point for the 60s generation, and the memories and events surrounding it became a zeitgeist for the western world. But for society now, in Britain at least, there have been so many reference points during the two decades since Zebrugge that our memories can be stirred by myriad variations of the “where were you when…?” question. In the past 20 years, our lives have been punctuated with events, which, if grouped together in some form of mental film archive, would provide a poignant snapshot of the last days of the 20th century and the dawn of the 21st.

Which events hold significance in your consciousness? Which would be included in your personal archive? I don’t believe these are solely tragic, although by their very nature many of them are. One symbolic occasion of my youth was the fall of the Berlin Wall. I recall clearly my German teacher’s delight at telling us of the “vereinigung” and seeing the subsequent TV pictures of elated crowds hacking the concrete curtain to pieces. The tiny, graffitied chunk of rock my brother had brought me back from an earlier visit to Berlin was all of a sudden an even more symbolic piece of history – and I had a part of it in my bedroom.

I’ve already collected several significant mental bookmarks in my 29 years, attached to each are the lucid flashbacks of specific days: the glorious sunshine of Liverpool, my university town, on the day after the Labour landslide in 1997(the mood of my street so jubilant a stranger hugged me at the bus stop); coming back from a night out four months later and making endless rounds of toast as we stayed awake to watch the blanket coverage of the tragic death of Diana; being told about the first plane crashing into the twin towers by a man on the street in central London on 9/11 and my own disbelief as I watched the full scale of the horror unfold; and, most recently, the eeriness of the dumbstruck, crowded London streets while walking to and from work on that hot July day after the terror attacks on the Tube and bus. 

Over the course of our lives we will accumulate different memories and individual reference points to events of such magnitude. And, although a great many of us are fortunately far removed from the immediate and most acutely-felt effects, their potency will remain with us throughout the passage of time. Often it’s the insignificant things – the blistered feet from walking home in heels on 7/7, the misspelled “Diana, she will always be rembered” sign in the local shop, and dropping Shreddies on the carpet the morning after the Zebrugge disaster – that remind us of the emotions and gravity of a particular occasion. It is important that this should always be so, for no matter how minor our involvement was in such happenings, these recollections echo more significant parts of our history, and we will always have a role in it, no matter how trivial our observations seem to us.

Which events of the past 20 years hold significance for you? Do you remember where you were and how you felt? Let us know your thoughts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to Time-stopping moments of the past 20 years

  1. Jessica says:

    Remember  sitting on our sheepskin (oh so 70s) sofa in school uniform, watching breaking news with my dad, that John Lennon had just been assassinated.
     
    My dad had made me a ham sandwich and I remember thinking I should eat it really slowly as he may be in front of the telly a while.
     
    It all seemed rather surreal…my dad\’s sadness, the sandwich I could hardlay taste…having listened and sung along to Yellow Submarine only that morning on our family turntable.

  2. Brett says:

    I remember watching Challenger take off in 1986…and explode.  I was at school, and the whole group of classrooms watched it.  I remember the Berlin Wall coming down on my birthday.  I remember getting up at five am when I was in 4th grade to watch the Gulf War, even though I didn\’t fully understand it.
     
    I remember my mom\’s boss phoning on Sept 11 and me subsequently turning to the news to watch both towers come down.  I remember the quiet in the following days at my college, which lay under the flight path to Vancouver International.  I remember the first few blows in the war against terror, and I remember watching in bemusement as the first Marine and Armoured regiments crossed into Iraq.

  3. sandras says:

    It was a tuesday, i had the day off and i was doing the dishes. I had the tv on when i heard the news, couldn\’t believe it. I stopped doing the dishes and sat down in front of the tv for a long time, with the kitchentowel in my hand. It felt so unreal, i felt so light in my head and nervous… That day, september 11th, 2001…
    A nice memory i have, one of the greatest things i experienced, was august 11th, 1999. The total solar eclipse. It took us 5 hours with the train to get there. The train was very full. We didnt need seats, because it was so packed we were leaning against each other. It was hot and this woman got sick and we were worried she would throw up, as there was no way for her to get to the toilet or somewhere else to avoid the people if she would trow up. There were even people laying on those reks, where you usually put your suitcase etc… I remember a moment, around 11 o\’clock. The train was delayed. And i started to panick a little as the eclipse was starting and i didn\’t wanna be stuck in there and missing it, but we made it. When we arrived in Virton, the best place to be in Belgium to see it, it was GREAT. So many people in this small village, the atmosphere. The moment off the total eclipse, everybody went silent. It was amazing, this silence… I will never forget :o)

  4. amanda says:

    The 1st news event that I can remember with clarity is the death of Elvis when I was 7 years old.  I remember the the news showing what seemed like a dozen ambulances driving down a street and thinking why they would need so many for one man.

  5. Jan says:

    Oh there are so many, the Zebrugge ferry disaster sticks in my mind because I was getting married that year and travelled the same route in October, frightened all the way there that they would leave the doors open again. The Hillsborough disaster was in 89 I think, I was living in Germany talking to my friend on the phone and wondering why all these people were pushing each other around at the football, then I came to realise that they were stuck, you could see their faces pushed up against the metal fences. Of course 9/11 when my daughter was 3 1/2 and we sat in disbelief as the second tower went down, she still remembers now. When I was pregnant in \’97 and I got up and couldn\’t understand why there was news on most of the channels, someone had died and it was 5 minutes before I realised that it was Diana…

  6. Sam says:

    so many memories:the evening we received a call from the hospital to say my grandfather had been taken ill,i was eating sausage& tomato casserole,i grabbed a sausage as we were piled into the car(20years ago);the silent journey home on 9/11 after we\’d heard at work the rumour a hijacked plane had crashed in NYC&more were heading to London,trying throughout the day to find a radio to confirm what was and wasnt true;switching channels to look for friends\’ faces,&names on the ticker tape,on news channels after the tsunami; River Phoenix\’s death; Freddie Mercury\’s death; Diana and Dodi\’s death,i was cleaning up after a party  &thought i\’d listen to the news for background noise but stopped tidying&just sat watching; the Hillsborough disaster, and wondering whether i\’d ever want to go to a football match if this could happen so easily.
    The memories that we all immediately think of are probably unhappy ones, however we do come together, whether it be with family, friends, communities or countries, whether it be for a 1 or 2 minute silence or some sort of rememberance or donating towards a emergency charity, somehow we show our support towards others.  In this unbelievable world we now live in, i believe we have to cling to the moments that make us stronger as human beings but at the same time use the time we have to make it a better world.(which unfortunately doesnt appear to be happening at the moment).

  7. ANDREAS says:

    Being a little older the things that stuck in my memory as a lot. The first is the landing of the apolo lunar flight in the moon. I was vert young but the images never left me, me seating on the floor watching the black and white tv and the first man walking on the moon. Others were the handover of hong kong from britain to china. I was in singapore, walking outside a bar in clark quay and stopped to watch the lowering of the flag anf the raise of the chinese one… an era has finished or just started depending from which point of view you were seeing it. The fall of the berlin wall…. standing infront of the tv fully dressed and holding my keys just watching how a number of ordinary people make history….
     
     

  8. Eddie says:

    Im only twenty, so to be honest not much has happened since 1986. The SEA was passed and Maggie was dethrowned and im sure a lot of other things as well, but it all seems insignificant compared to 9/11. I was actually lucky enough to be in the same room as Tony Blair when he was told about a terrorist attack in America. It was during the TUC conference in Brighton and I was in an African Drumming group at school, we had been booked as some entertainment for the conference. It was all a bit surreal really, saying hello to the PM off stage and im sure he gave one of his infamous quips about African Drumming, like, "Oh gosh, that must really make your hands sore!". And then only a few minutes into his speach someone came up to him and obviously whispered that America was under attack. Tony then finished quite ubruptly (unline GW who was reading to school kids) and said something had happened in America and he had to go. We all left and it all seemed rather erie. Some guys in a the back of a truck were watching the tv shouting oh my god. You could hear people on their phones sounding suprised, and then my mum rang me to tell me. I havent really ever thought about it, but in 30 years time when I have gran kids I can say that I was there when Tony Blair was told about 9/11.

  9. Ruth says:

    As a child of the 80\’s growing up in Belfast my memories are more grounded in local events rather than international.  I remember being confused as to why Gerry Adams and Martin McGuiness to name but a few had their voicees over-dubbed on TV.  I also remember car searches when my family went shopping, and bomb scares and hoaxes.  On a more international level though, I recall being very young in the kitchen of our first house with my mother when my father ran the idea of joining in the Gulf War effort by her, and I burst into floods of tears at the thought of my dad going away and the possibility that he might not come back.  The only celebrity deatth I can recall years ago was that of the passing of Kurt Cobain.  I vaguely knew who he was, as Nirvana were quite big and it was more the shock that someone so young would kill himself and that I had never witnessed such a news report on TV prior to that.  I also remember my Aunt calling my mother, crying that Princess Diana had died and eventually watching her funeral on TV. 

  10. Ramyesh says:

    I remember the day, the Princess of Wales had died, having woken the following day to hear the news, it was one of the most sombre days I remember, the day was bright but had a tragic feel to it, my girlfriend was quite upset, the day was surreal, and of shock and disbelief……
     
    9/11, I was in bed with the flu, watching cartoons on cable tv feeling miserable, my acqauintence phones me up to tell me the world markets have gone ballistic and that a plane has hit the twin tower and that I should watch CNN, whilst watching it, it looked like a film of tragic magnitude not knowing at the time if it was real or not, for a few moments, and the shock of realising that it was a real event unfolding before my eyes, memories fragmented of the day vivd nonethe less.

  11. Eileen says:

    Out of all the events I remember in my life, whether happy or sad, the one which will always chill me most is Dunblane. My oldest daughter, now almost 16, was attending nursery at the time, and I had left home to pick her up. On the way, I met a friend who told me that a gunman had burst into a school, and shot a teacher and children. I asked her where this had happened, but she didn\’t know: "somewhere in scotland, not far from here" was her reply. I have to say at this point she was distraught as well, as she had 2 boys at school, but neither of us could say anything as we left each other. I arrived at my daughter\’s nursery, which was part of a local school, in tears, fearing the worst. Thankfully, all was well with the children, but news of the atrocity had filtered through to the nursery teachers, who were all so upset. Many lives changed forever that day, for so many different reasons. When we arrived home, the massacre was making headline news all over Britain. There\’s still a sadness within me each time I think of that day\’s events, which happened less than 20 miles from me. I cannot imagine what the parents of those dead children experienced – my own experience from that day will haunt me forever, and all those affected by those moments of evil are always in my prayers.

  12. Adrian says:

    KENNEDYS BEEN SHOT ? WHEN DID THAT HAPPEN?

  13. Unknown says:

    I\’m only 16 but many images are still in my mind from the past decade. I rember seeing my teacher at junior school cry during the burial of the queens mother. I remember the shock of 9/11 and the stunned faces of every adult i was with at the time but i didnt really understand. These are negative and i believe some of the positive are easily overlooked. Like the queens golden jubilee. The u.k winning the olympics and so on.

  14. Adrian says:

    Why does everyone always remember the bad stuff. What about remembering the Good stuff. The moon landings, ok that was over twenty years ago but has it really all been rubbish over the last twenty years? What ever happened to the happy bit at the end of the news? You remember the skateboarding Duck, the talking Dog

  15. Unknown says:

    The events I remember from your article are Diana and 9/11.
     
    I did not think much to Diana, was never a fan – but I do remember the sadness and 24/7 media coverage over the next few days. I had to get up really early on that day as it was my nephew\’s christening, I put the TV on only to find out she was indeed dead. I was not pleased that the vicar discussed this story during the christening, but that\’s a another story!
     
    I was watching sky news a lot when 9/11 happened. I was about the start my second year at university and was trying to keep up with current events to fool the tutors into thinking I had been reading the broadsheets all summer! I remember putting the TV on to see the towers smoking, and there was a frantic energy to it all. It was only when I saw the second plane hit that it registered what was actually happening. I remember feeling confused, scared and upset.
     
    I don\’t remember what I was doing when 7/7 occured, I knew it happened but for some reason it didn\’t leave a footprint on my memory. Isn\’t it strange that different events seem to be remembered by so many, and why some events seem to be more memorable than others? It is also strange how much detail is remembered about your life at the time (christening, univeristy etc).
     
    Also, I do remember the Berlin Wall being knocked down, I was a kid watching Timmy Mallett\’s Wackaday. For that reason alone I try to forget it……………..
     
     
     

  16. Maria says:

    I remember vividly the day Lady Diana passed. I woke at about 2am and heard something in the distance on the radio. At 4:30am I got up to go to work and heard what I thought had been some sort of stupid dream over two hours earlier was in fact true. "Oh my god" "Those poor boys" Two hours later in work I was talking to a customer, thinking everyone must know by now. And she obviously hadn\’t. Her husband worked as a body guard within the royal family 2 years earlier. She had met Lady Diana. She just cried. I was working on the early shift in a cafe on the railway. The whole experience of the whole day was just totally surreal. I watched as they brought her home and sat watching the day of the funeral. I cried for those poor little boys losing their Mother and for the rest of the world for losing such a wonderful Embassador and a beautiful human being.
       

  17. Unknown says:

    I will always remember the Herald of Free Enterprise disaster happening.  It was on the same evening as the very first Comic Relief.  The charity programme kept going either side of the news, but somehow to me it seemed somehow rather tasteless that here we were laughing away, when there were all these people dying from the cold in the merciless North Sea.  Perhaps as with the tsunami, the full horror of the event did not strike home til the next day.
    As a child, events remembered include seeing the first jumbo jets (747s) flying into or out of Heathrow Airport from my school playground in a nearby town.  The planes used to regularly disrupt my lessons with their noise, but about eight years later, everyone in my sixth form was thrilled to look out of the window and witness the maiden commercial flight of Concorde out of Heathrow, heading for Dubai.  My Dad worked for British Airways and was on duty at the time, which made me feel extra thrilled and proud of this great achievement. 
     Then a few months later, I was in a history lesson at school when we were told that the then Prime Minister, Harold Wilson, had resigned.  This was a new experience in my young life, and I couldn\’t quite grasp the political consequences of it at the time.  Funny how what goes around comes around, as thirty-one years later we contemplate the possibility of the same thing happening again this summer.  Except Wilson didn\’t spend months hanging around, he went quickly.

  18. rob says:

    There are so many "we were you moments"
    Was in Amsterdam working on 9/11 on a conference call to the USA when the first plane hit… I also stayed that night in the World Trade Centre Hotel at Amsterdam aiport!
    Diana\’s death was the day after I returned from Asia, and I was in Taiwan when the handover of HK to China and seeing how nervous the Taiwanese were that it had happened..
    I too remember the day Elvis died…
    Cant recall Zebrugge but I do remember the Marchioness sinking as I was on the same boat about 4 weeks earlier for a similar do…
    Being a West Ham fan I vividly remember the day that Bobby Moore died, and how moved I was going to the ground that night to lay a wreath…
    There are probably countless others…..

  19. Maria says:

    On the good side, and I know it will mean nothing to any-one outside my family. 15 years after being told I would never have a child of my own. I gave birth to a healthy and very beautiful little boy who has now just turned 8. He is our world.

  20. Daniel says:

    i also grew up in belfast and am in my late twenties, so one of the most significant things i can recall was the first IRA ceasefire- although the troubles still rumbled on to some degree for a little while longer, there was a genuine feeling of hope in the air, esp for those in my age group at the time (16-18).
     
    another one i always remember was when princess diana died but probably for different reasons than most…. i had been at a night club earlier and was being left home by a designated driver with a few other friends when the news came over the radio. we all thought " that\’s a bit mad. pity as she seemed like a nice enough woman\’ but i didn\’t give it anymore thought at all. i certainly didn\’t think it was a world shattering event to be honest and it wasn\’t until the following morning when every single channel was showing it as wall to wall coverage that i thought \’oh right, it is a big deal then.\’
     
    other things stick in the mind- the first gulf war, the hillsborough disaster, maggie thatcher resigning, berlin wall coming down but i guess that one of the biggest shocks was 9/11- i think was probably the main one for my generation that you were aware even as you watched the absolutely harrowing footage, it was going to have a world changing effect.

  21. Unknown says:

    The most enigmatic time for me has to be reading the newspaper a few days after the 9/11 disasters and seeing a photograph of someones details who had gone missing having worked in the world trade centre.  This poor guy had the same date of birth as me,  9th of May, 1969.   That sort of coincidence makes you think a little deeper about things and closer to the poor victims of such an atrocity which must never happen again.

  22. Charles says:

    One memory that will stay with me forever was the morning of the 2nd August 1990, I was working in Bahrain at the time and woke to discover that Saddam had invaded Kuwait. Also the 9/11 disaster, I was on the phone with the manager of one of the local banks and he was watching it on tv, as a hotel manager with American guests I had to tell them what was happening and watch the horror in their eyes, many came from New York.

  23. Unknown says:

    i\’ll never forget Lockerbie, i was 7 months pregnant and very weepy anyway, but i couldn\’t believe i was bringing a baby into this crazy world were these horrible things could happen. Baby is fine and now 19 at Uni – thank the lord for the nice people in the world
     

  24. rosaleen says:

    Over the last 20 years the most horrifying and one that I remember being at work was the Dunblane Massacre. I work in a maternity
    hospital and some  of the staff had to leave as their children attended the school.

  25. frank says:

    It must be the death of diana i think it had a effect on everyone .We had just got back off holiday and was in bed when the phone rang and the mother in law was on the other end of the phone i said to my wife \’what the hell does she want now .Then bang princess diana as been killed in a car crash .It will live with me forever along with the out pour of grief .Also was 9/11 & 7/7 enough said

  26. noo noo says:

    i will never forget the Herald accident. i had come home from a night out and got the 1st edition of the Saturday newspaper, and was shocked to see her lying on her side. i was living in glasgow at the time, with no links to ""The Sea", but it still really shook me. 20 years later i now find myself living in dover, working at sea!! i was working for a holiday company when 9/11 happened, and i remember interupting my boss in a meeting and telling him "that planes were falling out the sky". sometimes is really not a nice world we live in.

  27. Unknown says:

    I am only 13 years ols. I still remember the day when 9/11 occured, i was 7 years old and I remember going into scholl the next day and everyone was talking about it. I also remember my teacher telling us all to be quite as it had nothing to do with school. I don\’t reme,ber many more things about the pat 20 years however.

  28. john and tehillah says:

    My most enigmatic time was when Nelson Mandela was elected president of South Africa, and a family of Zulus walked past my house and told me to get out, now that Mandela was president, white people had no say and they were going to take all that I owned. My entire family now live in the U.K.

  29. k-lee says:

    I can remember both good and bad stuff, but, seeing as I\’m 20 next week, I don\’t know much bout all that. The bad suff I can remember well was holly wells and jessica chapman. that was horrible! Good stuff was Man Utd winning the treble in 98/99 season!

  30. Helena says:

    As well as the above mentioned things i.e. 9/11, I oddly remember were I was when Maggie Thatcher resigned from power.  I was on a school trip at the Houses of Parliament! One of the workers rushed up to our tour group and said that she had resigned.  It was very strange I was in the very place she was when it happened!

  31. Claire says:

    I remember 9/11 very clearly. I was ten years old at the time. I remember coming home from school; I let myself in the front door, and my dad was watching TV. I walked into the room and saw the towers and billowing smoke…I assumed it was an action movie he was watching. It took me a moment to realise it was real, it was really happening.
     
    I remember when the Pope died very clearly as well, for some reason. I was out camping with some friends. It was around three in the morning; we were all standing around the fire, uh…roasting jam donuts, for some reason. Then one of the older girls came up and told us the pope was dead. Some of us were at a catholic school, some weren\’t. Those who weren\’t didn\’t care, and the rest of us wasted about an hour wondering if we\’d get time off school.
     
    And for some reason I have a really clear memory of cheering on Brazil in the \’02 world cup. We\’d moved house that summer, and all my uncles were round to help us…we ended up skiving off and hiding from my mum while we watched the cup final.

  32. fiona 'fe' says:

    i was in Canada on my first indipendant travel venture during 7/7, i was getting a bagel when the woman serving me asked if i was English and if i had heard the news – i thought she meant about the Olympics, of course she meant the london bombings. I got mixed and contridicting bits of news from shopkeepers and people i met all day, but also got a lot of support and was told by countless people that their prayers were with me and my country. I was incredibly touched by peoples reactions, whilst also being slightly bewildered by newspaper covers splattered with photos of people in trafalgar square with Union flags celebrating winning the olympic bid, whilst i knew that actually London was in chaos. It was hours before i was able to find out clearly what had happened and was days before i heard from some of my friends and family. It was certainly a very strange day, but one i shall certainly always remember.   

  33. Annika says:

    I remember being at work (in a hotel) setting tables when someone told me to come and watch what was on TV. I went into our break room and saw the first of the twin towers fall. Almost everyone was watching it at the time and we finished setting the tables much later.
    July 7 is my birthday, and we had just had coffee and birthday cake when my dad decided to switch on the TV for the news.

  34. Andy says:

    I was on the trading floor of my investment bank and we had the TV on just after the first plane crashed, blomberg and reuters. I said that the second plane was flying too low and it was, we then went into disater mode as at that time there were 16 unaccounted for planes.
     
    It seems inhumane but we are the masters of the universe and if we fail, the rest comes crashing down around us, if not now, then soon. That is what we are paid to do. We did it, and we staved off economic collapse.

  35. Kate says:

    When Diana died it had been my cousins wedding, and we all woke up the next day and i just remember everyone was crying and they were saying she had died and it was a real sad day. As for 9/11 i was in school in religious education and they wheeled in a tv and made us all listen to what had happened. 7/7 i was out with my friend ross and i was on a train home when my mum called me and told me, my best mate was there studying pharmacy and another one working and i spent 12 hours ringing them both till i got them, i have never been as glad to hear anyones voices.

  36. Unknown says:

    for me it was hearing Kurt Cobain had passed away. i was at school, and heard it on the afternoon news. i was only 12 years old, but Nirvana were my favourite band, and hearing that news, and realising they wouldnt make music again was just shattering.

  37. Elaine says:

    My radio alarm woke me up for school at around 7.30 am in August 1976 with the new headlines that Elvis was dead.  Never really had much time for the man only being 10 but i  knew he had made such a huge difference to the music industry. 
    9/11 we were flying home from Greece so security was a nightmare, oddly though 2 nights prior i dreamt that we were flying between high rise buildings and couldnt get high enough to fly home!! weird!!
     
     

  38. Elaine says:

    The Hillsborough disaster.  My boyfriend (now husband) gave his forest ticket to a friend so he could see me.  His friend was Ok but it makes you think how different life could have been. Thanks heavens for small mercies

  39. Linda says:

    I was in Cyprus when Princess Diana died, I think they were more upset than me.
    I was in an A-level history class when the Twin Towers went down. My sis texted me and I told the teacher "I\’m off, history\’s in the making".
    I was in Antwerp when the 7/7 bombings happened. It was a harbour day so I slept in and woke up to it all. It was very strange not being at home in my town, with my Londoners….I know it sounds silly, but I just felt I should be there.

  40. keira miller says:

    Sept/11……..Home from uni supposed to be revising but was actually half asleep on the sofa, watching neighbours. Then BBC news sinterupted for a \’special report\’ saying the World Trade Centre had been hit by an aeroplane…… Being half asleep i thought it was a dream. A nightmare perhaps during the day. Then the rest continued to happen. Pure disbelief.

  41. david says:

    would have to be the day my brother told us he had been abused by a family friend when he was a child

  42. susan says:

    Remember hearing 9/11 on the car radio on the way home from a pub lunch, thinking it was an advert for some new hollywood film….then my son\’s then gf rang us to say WW3 is starting!!!
    When Diana died we also lost a much loved family friend the same day, so they both had some good company on the other side!!!

  43. Ji says:

    Yeah I can remember clearly when Princess Diana died. I had actually fallen asleep in my lounge and left the television on. As you do, you eventually wake up; I woke up by falling off my armchair. I heard the television which I had left on rumbling in the background as I thought I had still not woken up properly and thought I had a dream about the Road Traffic Accident (at that point) that the Princess of Wales had featured in, I was thinking what a strange dream. It was my subconscious starting to kick in to reality as I started to get a grip on the background rumble, that was coming from my television and not a dream, the time was just as news was hitting that she had only been involved in a car accident in a Paris tunnel and that she was in hospital. I could not believe what I was hearing or watching! I was hoping that it would be ok and not that bad but there was no way I was going to my bed. I had to do a reality check and I can remember clearly saying to myself are you really awake or is this just one horrible nightmare! I wanted to telephone anyone and everyone I knew to see if they where watching or even knew what was going on that horrible August night/day (I had to get a reality check somewhere else)! I waited and like everyone who was watching and listening got the news no one wanted to ever hear. It was still early hours I think it was clarified for certain the back of 3 in the morning but my timing might be slightly off, so when it came 7.45am I started to ring round friends and family and all I said was switch on the television, Princess Diana is DEAD. I got the same response from each and every person I called \’What\’?, they could not believe what I had just told them ( I had trouble all that night trying to convince myself that it was not a dream, that indeed RERALITY had certainly struck home!

  44. Ji says:

    Yeah I can remember clearly when Princess Diana died. I had actually fallen asleep in my lounge and left the television on. As you do, you eventually wake up; I woke up by falling off my armchair. I heard the television which I had left on rumbling in the background as I thought I had still not woken up properly and thought I had a dream about the Road Traffic Accident (at that point) that the Princess of Wales had featured in, I was thinking what a strange dream. It was my subconscious starting to kick in to reality as I started to get a grip on the background rumble, that was coming from my television and not a dream, the time was just as news was hitting that she had only been involved in a car accident in a Paris tunnel and that she was in hospital. I could not believe what I was hearing or watching! I was hoping that it would be ok and not that bad but there was no way I was going to my bed. I had to do a reality check and I can remember clearly saying to myself are you really awake or is this just one horrible nightmare! I wanted to telephone anyone and everyone I knew to see if they where watching or even knew what was going on that horrible August night/day (I had to get a reality check somewhere else)! I waited and like everyone who was watching and listening got the news no one wanted to ever hear. It was still early hours I think it was clarified for certain the back of 3 in the morning but my timing might be slightly off, so when it came 7.45am I started to ring round friends and family and all I said was switch on the television, Princess Diana is DEAD. I got the same response from each and every person I called \’What\’?, they could not believe what I had just told them ( I had trouble all that night trying to convince myself that it was not a dream, that indeed REALITY had certainly struck home)!

Leave a Reply

